Touro School of Health Sciences Garners Awards in Occupational Therapy

touro school of health sciences garners awards for occupational therapyTouro College’s School of Health Sciences’ administration and faculty in occupational therapy (OT) have recently been awarded prestigious honors for their leadership, advocacy, and many contributions to the profession and community, including pioneering OT practices in mental health, and addressing health care disparities.

Assistant Professor Elizabeth Griffin Lannigan, Ph.D., OTR/L has been chosen to receive the 2014 Roster of Fellows Award of the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA). Dr. Lannigan has received the honor for her leadership and advocacy in addressing health care disparities.  The Roster of Fellows recognizes members who have made significant contributions to the continuing education and professional development of fellow members.  The awards will be presented at the Association’s annual conference in Baltimore, Md. in April.

Assistant Professor Pat Precin, Psya.D., OTR/L, LP, NCPsyA, has also been chosen to receive the 2014 Roster of Fellows Award of the AOTA.  Dr. Precin is being recognized for pioneering OT practice areas in mental health.

Beth Chiariello, Ph.D., OTR/L, associate director of the School’s Manhattan-based OT program, won the “NYSOTA Award of Merit for Service” from the New York State Occupational Therapy Association (NYSOTA), an award given in recognition of contributions to the profession that have statewide significance. Dr. Chiarello is the founding chairperson of the NYS Occupational Therapy Political Action Committee and served on the organization’s executive board for ten years.

Dr. Lannigan has also has been awarded the President’s Award from the New Jersey Occupational Therapy Association (NJOTA), for her outstanding service and mentorship to the OT community of New Jersey. She served for 12 years on the organization’s executive board, including as treasurer and secretary.

Assistant Professor Alex Lopez will receive the American Occupational Therapy Foundation’s Award for Community Volunteerism for 2014 at the AOTA conference. The Foundation’s award, given in acknowledgement of contributions to the community and profession, recognizes Professor Lopez’s service to the community through PAR FORE, a program that uses golf as a medium to build resiliency in at-risk youth. PAR FORE is a program he developed locally that is expanding nationwide.

“I am very pleased that Touro College occupational therapy faculty members are being recognized with these distinguished honors for their important contributions to the community and the profession,” said Stephanie Dapice Wong, chairperson and director of the Occupational Therapy Department.

Added Dr. Louis Primavera, dean of the School of Health Sciences: “The Occupational Therapy Program faculty members continue to bring honor and recognition to the School of Health Sciences.  I am very proud of these awards and I am pleased to see the recognition of such outstanding work by these faculty members by their professional organizations.”

Established in 1972, the School of Health Sciences provides programs in a broad range of allied health professions and the medical sciences. The School has grown considerably since its inception, and is committed to making professional education accessible to students of all backgrounds. Programs are offered in multiple locations and in innovative formats. Although based in Bay Shore, Long Island, the School also offers programs at Touro’s main campus in the Chelsea section of Manhattan, in two locations in Brooklyn, and at an extension center at Winthrop University Hospital in Mineola, Long Island.


Source: Touro School of Health Sciences